Learning When You Are Teaching

Have you ever learned something while teaching 3-5 year olds in a Sunday School class? The lessons are already prepared that we are given. My husband is usually the one that goes over it while I am busy getting ready for church. As I sat there teaching with my husband, light bulbs were going off. I normally just get side tracked with the children’s responses to questions,randomness,or funny outbursts. They are hard to avoid or laugh at.

Yesterday’s story/teaching had my antenna’s up and listening. Our story was about Bartimaeus.

46 Then they came to Jericho. As Jesus and his disciples, together with a large crowd, were leaving the city, a blind man, Bartimaeus (which means “son of Timaeus”), was sitting by the roadside begging. 47 When he heard that it was Jesus of Nazareth, he began to shout, “Jesus, Son of David, have mercy on me!”48 Many rebuked him and told him to be quiet, but he shouted all the more, “Son of David, have mercy on me!”49 Jesus stopped and said, “Call him.”So they called to the blind man, “Cheer up! On your feet! He’s calling you.” 50 Throwing his cloak aside, he jumped to his feet and came to Jesus.51 “What do you want me to do for you?” Jesus asked him.The blind man said, “Rabbi, I want to see.”52 “Go,” said Jesus, “your faith has healed you.” Immediately he received his sight and followed Jesus along the road.

Mark 10:46-52

My first light bulb was, How many times have I let other people shush me? How many times have I allowed the devil to tell me that God wants nothing to do with me and to be quiet. I am just making a bunch of noise with my prayers and request. Or How I allow people to tell me that something must be wrong that is why you do not have children. I listen to those who don’t know my innermost parts. My heart. God hears my cries. He hears my requests and prayers. He knows my desires. He knows that my faith will heal me. I should listen to no one telling me to be quiet or shushing me!

My second light bulb was, What healed Bartimeaus? His faith. Faith is a small word with big impacts. How many times have I let my faith only flicker instead of being a roaring fire? I know having faith is hard, it doesn’t come easy, and takes time to increase. Our faith, My faith can do great things. My faith can Heal me. Bartimeaus was blind all his life, he begged and continue to beg even when those who told him to be quiet. He begged so loudly that Jesus heard him and called him to come. If we allow people, the devil, our current circumstances to cease our cries,how will God ever be able to hear us? We give up too easily. In this day in age everything has to be NOW!.. It doesn’t work that way! Yes, this story seems that his sight was restored instantly, and it may have been. It wasn’t restored until after he had faith. Faith is what keeps us from going from A to B to C.  It’s a progress. It takes time to build your faith.It doesn’t usually come instantly. I am sure Bartimeaus faith took time to build, He was blind for some time.

My conclusion, My revelation is that when we cry out to God we should do so loudly. Being persistent despite what our circumstances,people or the devil tell us. Having faith is what heals us. I also noticed that once he received his sight, he didn’t just leave to continue his day. He followed Jesus. He kept walking in faith. He walked with Jesus after he was healed. After he got what he wanted most!

I am thankful for learning this story with our Sunday School class. Do you cry out despite others telling you to be quiet? I would love to hear your stories of you doing exactly what Bartimeaus did!

2 thoughts on “Learning When You Are Teaching

  1. Teaching these type classes is always when I run across something I hadn’t thought enough about before. Plus a child’s view is always amazing to me 🙂 This is a great lesson!

Leave a Reply

