How important it is to have a Support System

faeee0ba822aa745e73f2703a3eb971e

I don’t know about you,but I always feel more at ease knowing someone else out there has been in my shoes. Someone who is dealing with the same feelings/emotions that come along with this journey. To me having a support is important for me to thrive daily in this world. Feeling alone is the hardest thing to go through. When you are first told something may be wrong or is wrong it’s like the light goes out in the room and it’s just you.

At times I still feel alone. I feel as if I am by myself in a dark room. I feel as if people truly don’t try to understand the feelings,thoughts,heartache,or pain that you go through each month. I understand most people won’t understand,but it hurts when people don’t try to understand. To me there is a difference. Infertility is a battle. It’s pain. It’s agonizing at times. Some people choose to see all of these and some just don’t try. The great thing is: We can build our support system!

Our support system can consist of bible verses we go to on our rough days. A lot of the time it can be having extra prayer time/quiet time with God on those bad days. Or if your like me it’s just needing to hear encouragement from fellow trying to conceive sisters/couples. Sometimes its just someone else praying for you. It can be all of the above!( I need that on really,really, really rough days)

A week or so ago. Hubby & I were at a small group. At the end once everyone left, the couple who are the leaders of the group asked us what we needed prayer for. They said that by a few things we talked about in group it seemed that we were having trouble to conceive and they told us their story of 2 miscarriages before their daughter. As we were explaining the history of us. Someone from group came back and said that God told her to come and pray over us…. WHAT?! Needless to say I am one of those I can’t take spot light. I get red and nervous. I may cry or cry harder if spot light is on me. Well, God thanks for your spotlight! I cried while these 3 people were praying over us..WHY? I have no idea, I wasn’t even having a bad day! We never really had anyone just pray over us, or someone come back because they feel they needed to pray over us. It was all new, yet wonderful. We are thankful for that moment of others praying over us.

Normally my husband,Damian, can tell when something is up. Most of the time he is good at listening and talking it through with me. Normally he says amazing things about me that makes me cry more! Then he prays for me, for us and I normally feel better. Sometimes I just hop into a nice hot bubble bath, light a candle or two,turn the lights off and just spend the whole time relaxing and praying. I know it is strange to some, but baths relax me and my mind stops enough for me to pray.For everything I may have been feeling.For other people.Other things going on and the rest of my busy week!

I like to surround my mind with positive things. Whether it is certain bible verses or positive outcomes of infertility. I love hearing how people waited for years and God blessed them. It really helps me in the waiting and rough time. It helps me keep my mind on, “He is always on time!”

I also try to take time and encourage others going through the same boat as me! I started this blog, not only to encourage and help those through their waiting time,but to help myself. This blog is like an opened diary. It’s my inner thoughts, research and what God has to say about all that I may go through/think/question.

A support system is so important. It helps you feel that it isn’t the end of the world. It helps you feel that you aren’t alone. It helps keep you sane. It builds you up when you are down. We all need encouragement when we can’t give or think of one encouraging thought.

Therefore encourage one another and build up one another, just as you also are doing.

1 Thessalonians 5:11

We are told to encourage and build one another up. Oh how I am thankful for all who build me up and helps me keep focus on all God is doing and will do!

Two are better than one, because they have a good return for their work:If one falls down, his friend can help him up. But pity the man who falls and has no one to help him up!

Ecclesiastes 4:9-10

Two are better than one. A support buddy is better than none. If I fall I can count on others to bring me up again. If I don’t have a support pity on me! Do you have a support buddy or system? What is your go to support on those rough days?

2 thoughts on “How important it is to have a Support System

  1. This is so true!! Of course we have a support system with our church family but no one there is going through what we are. This blog community has been a HUGE help for me 🙂

    • I never realized how many women write blogs to encourage and share their stories. I am blessed to have been shown that through instagram and wordpress. I pray that I encourage and support you through your journey as well! Thanks for always sharing your thoughts!

Leave a Reply

